It’s A New Season

The Lord tells us in Isaiah 55:8 “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.” There is absolutely nothing more true than that statement.  After being a pastor for 11 years in Houston, TX (Riverview Baptist Church and Fellowship Church of Houston), my family and I left Houston in November of 2010 to come to San Antonio, TX to begin a new venture in ministry.  We left with the thought in mind that we will be doing full-time evangelism and speaking.  With this leap of faith, the Lord was gracious by allowing me to travel, fill my calendar as well as partner in beginning a new ministry called reACTION.  The last thing on my mind was to pastor again.

A year and a half ago, my friend and then pastor of Mighty Fortress Christian Fellowship, Jerry Salinas, went home to be with the Lord.  Unfortunately it came as a shock to the body.  Prior to his death, pastor Jerry and I were not only partners in ministry but we were friends.  He and his wife were a big blessing to Judy and I as we would periodically come to San Antonio and preach at Mighty Fortress.  Thus when he went to be with Jesus, I would come to San Antonio to assist in any way I could.  Whether it would be to preach or to meet with congregants as they were going through mourning.

In December of 2010, I was approached by the leaders of Mighty Fortress if I would consider being a candidate to pastor Mighty Fortress.  My initial response was “no”.  Again, my family and I just came to San Antonio and pastoring was not on our minds.  However, as the months went by and the Lord was restoring my spirit, He also began to shift my direction.  It was in April of this year that the Lord began to confirm some things to my wife, daughter and me as we prayed about pastoring once again.  It was as if the Lord changed my thought and direction in “mid-air”!  We knew by the end of April that pastoring is what He wanted us to do, again.

So it is with great pleasure and prayer that my family and I were confirmed Sunday May 22nd as the pastors of Mighty Fortress Christian Fellowship.  We will be having an official service on June 5th, 2011 as this would be my first Sunday as pastor.  If you are in and or around the San Antonio area, come join us for this special day at Mighty Fortress Christian Fellowship at 4302 SW Loop 410 San Antonio, TX 78227.  My family and I covet your prayers and thank you all for your support.

A Mighty God- A Mighty Fellowship,

Pastor Sammy

8 thoughts on “It’s A New Season

  1. What a beautiful testimony, Pastor! This brings joy to my heart knowing how prayers are answered on Gods timing, not ours nor within our understanding. Now I feel I have two church homes to visit when I visit San Annie 🙂 We would love to be there for your first message as Pastor….we will keep it in prayer and see what God has planned. May God continue to bless and keep you and your beautiful family, Sammy! In Christian love, Yvonne & Rigo Quintero.

  2. Blessings Pastor Sam! So happy to hear that the Lord has moved you and your family into the pastoral ministry again. Mighty Fortress is going to be so blessed to have you as their pastor. Our prayers and love to you and the family.

Leave a Reply

