Baruch HaShem Adonai

If you are not familiar with Jews or Hebrew, Baruch HaShem Adonai is translated “Blessed Be The Name Of The Lord”! Hebrew is a beautiful language indeed. It was also the language that our Lord spoke while He was on earth. If you are a lover of history and language, Hebrew is a language I would encourage you to learn.

I say this because I recently just discovered that I am not only Latino, but I am also a Jew! Actually, I am considered a Sephardic Jew. Sephardic Jew means “Spanish Jew”. I was approached by an older couple several months ago who themselves are Sephardic Jew, and they educated me as to where Sephardism came from. Here is an excerpt from the Jewish Virtual Library.org website:

“The descendants of Jews who left Spain or Portugal after the 1492 expulsion are referred to as Sephardim. The word “Sephardim” comes from the Hebrew word for Spain, Sepharad, that is stated in the Bible. It is believed that Jews have lived in Spain since the era of King Solomon (c.965-930 B.C.E.). Little information can be found on these Jews until the beginning of the first century. We do know that in 305 C.E., the Council of Toledo passed an edict forbidding Jews from blessing the crops of non-Jews and prohibiting Jews and non-Jews from eating together. The Sephardi Jews preserved their special language, which was a combination of Hebrew and Spanish, known as Ladino. Ladino is still spoken by some Sephardic communities, such as those in Greece, Turkey, Bulgaria, Rumania, France and Latin America. Today the largest Ladino-speaking community can be found in Israel. One can also read Ladino in Sephardic literature.”

Again, this is only a little bit of information that I can give to keep this blog post to a minimum. However, I do encourage you to do some research yourselves to see if your family heritage is Jewish. I would have never of thought in my wildest dreams that I was Jew. Who knows, you may be one too!

Click on the following link and see if you can find your last name in the Sephardic Jew Surname list. If you do not find your last name, you are more than likely not Sephardic Jew. If you do find your last name, then let me be the first to say to you- Baruch HaShem Adonai!

sephardic_surnames

Following My Rabbi- Pastor Sammy

7 thoughts on “Baruch HaShem Adonai

  1. Sammy, do you have any information on some of the old crypto-Jewish communities of the American Southwest? From time to time, I’ve run into Hispanic people who’ve stumbled on Jewish roots, many of whom hail from Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona, and California.

  2. Thank you so much! After reading you page i went to check if my last name was on the list and sure enough it was… i always suspected it was since my last name is “Marroquin” but you help me affirm it… blessings 😉

  3. Do you know a good reliable dna lab that can conclusively tell you your exact genetic Jewish percentage? I heard some places collect all your personal information if you use their service

Leave a Reply

