To Seek And To Save…

Like I have mentioned in the past, I am not a “good and consistent” blogger. As a matter of fact, I Tweet and Facebook more than I blog. However, once in a while I have something in my heart that will take a little bit more than 140 characters to write out.

So far, this has been a very busy summer for my family and I. Not only do I hold the load of being the pastor at the Fellowship Church of Houston, but I also travel nationally and speak to thousands of people each year. What I have seen in my travel amongst people I have met, is the deeper desire to know God and/or to grasp some sort of “spirituality”. Whether it be an atheist I meet at a Starbucks, an agnostic I meet at Barnes and Noble, a Wiccan I meet at an airport, a Church of God couple at a Wal-Mart or a born again believer at a conference, one thing is for sure, people are seeking for truth. This is why, as believers in Jesus Christ, it is of the utmost importance to study the Word of God. As Peter exhorts us, ” be ready to give an answer to anyone that asks of the hope that is in you”!

A few days ago, my family and I went to Salt Lick BBQ. This is the place that the Food Network calls “the best BBQ place” in the U.S. I have heard about the Salt Lick and saw them on an episode of Man vs. Food, but have never had the privilege  of eating there. Last Tuesday, my dream came true! Sure enough, it was everything people said it was and more. While we were eating amongst “cowboys and cowgirls”, I see a couple of guys that walked into the restaurant that stood out above everybody. Two Buddhist monks walk in with a plate of ribs and brisket! My brother-in-law and I looked at each other and laughed! Not at them, but at the odd sight of two guys dressed in “Monk Garb” eating ribs and brisket! Of course as I saw them, I needed to meet them. As we finished our delicious cow (sorry to my Hindu friends), it was my chance to go up to them, introduce myself and spark up conversation. As I approached them, they were very inviting, with smiles were on their faces. I in turn asked them, “so how did you like the BBQ?” They replied, “this was the best ever!” I commented, “I bet after eating such great BBQ that you cannot deny that there is a God, right?” They both laughed and said “ah, that was a good one!”  This exchange allowed for a great opportunity to ask them about their beliefs and “enlightenment” as Buddhists. Yet at the same time it also allowed an open door for me to present the true gospel of Jesus Christ and salvation from our sins. These men were very open to the gospel and did not in any way shun me nor reject me from presenting a teaching that contradicts Buddhism.

At the end of our brief conversation, we shook hands, took a picture and gave our goodbyes. I said “may the Lord God bless you”. They in turn said, “may you be enlightened by the Buddha”. Of course I had to respond to that statement as I replied, “The Bible, not the Buddha has enlightened me. In turn I encourage you to read it and find that Jesus loves you.” They smiled and we went our separate ways. The Word of God tells us that Christ came to “seek and to save that which is lost” (humanity). If we can personally adopt the mission of our Lord, we ourselves will begin to seek after those who need the hope that we have. Therefore I encourage you today to let your light shine, be approachable, show the love of Christ, don’t be intimidated, and seek those who Christ came to save!

Because of the True Gospel Pastor Sammy

3 thoughts on “To Seek And To Save…

  1. Awesome blog. Sharing the gospel is a freedom in this country that we so easily take for granted and we easily give away. And yet still we do not comprehend the amout of lives who fought and died for the freedom we are so blessed with today.

  2. GOD BLess YOu Brother & Pastor Sammy & family and Congregation. KHOW loves you and misses you. My the Lord Jesus Christ keep blessing the ministry for his Glory and Honor to kep reaching the lost souls

Leave a Reply

