Touching Base

As I have mentioned in the past, I am not a really good “blogger”. There are two main reasons why:
1) I usually say what I need to in 140 characters on Twitter or Facebook.
2) I usually don’t have the time to sit behind my laptop and/or Blackberry to begin writting.
However, today I do have a little bit of time and stuff to say. So I will keep this short and to the point.
My family and I just returned from San Antonio after I preached the funeral of my good friend Pastor Jerry Salinas. He was only 53yrs old and seemed to be in good physical health. Yet, just like that, the Lord called him Home. There are things in life that are difficult to understand. The untimely death of Jerry is one of those difficult ones. However, the Lord did not necessarily call us to “rack our brains” with trying to understand His will, He called us to obey Him and trust that He’s in full control. So with this in mind, I encourage you to find yourself in that place in your life where you’ve come to that “I trust You” stage with the Lord. When your friend or family member is laying in the casket, or your job laid you off, or the doctor gives you a diagnosis you didn’t want to hear, or if you fail a test you studied so hard for; God is in control! I challenge you to get to that stage in your Christian walk where Christ is truly all you need and truly in Him you trust. I do miss my friend and miss our conversations, but through it all, I will trust and obey for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

Pastor Sammy

One thought on “Touching Base

Leave a Reply

